Conroy Announces 19 New Fibre Sites
0Overall Score

Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Senator Stephen Conroy has today named 19 new sites that will get fibre broadband access.”The rollout of fibre to the premise will deliver speeds of up to 100 Mbps, 50 times faster than most people experience today,” Senator Conroy said.

Among the new sites are: Bacchus Marsh and South Morang (Melbourne) in Victoria; Brisbane (inner north), Springfield Lakes, and Toowoomba in Queensland; Riverstone (Western Sydney) and Coffs Harbour in NSW; Modbury and Prospect in South Australia, Victoria Park (Perth), Geraldton, and Mandurah in Western Australia; Casuarina in the Northern Territory; and Gungahlin in the ACT.

In addition, five existing locations to receive an additional rollout site are Minnamurra/Kiama Downs and Armidale in NSW, Townville in Qld, Brunswick in Melbourne, Victoria and Willunga in South Australia. As the entire township of Willunga is already part of the rollout, the nearby communities of Seaford / McLaren Vale will be the adjacent site.

“As with the five first release sites, NBN Co has chosen the second release sites based on a range of engineering, network design and logistical criteria,” continued Conroy.

Construction in the second release locations is scheduled for the second quarter of 2011.